Why I Write?

download

I found this question to be one that a lot of writers blog or ask one another. I found it annoying when I saw it or heard it, a pet peeve if you will. I mean, I get it, a writer always wants to talk about their origins and what inspired them to begin. But, as one of old English teachers used to say, So What?

It’s been a while since I’ve seen this question, but I’ve recently found myself asking it. It was my way of finding out if we relate, if we are really writers together, and proving I’m not totally insane. Ultimately, its a soul-searching question that provides us with an identity. If I’ve learned anything, it’s that writing gives us our identity, it’s a piece of us, something that we can’t live without, its a piece of our soul that can’t be removed (unlike that soul-alien in The Host by Stephenie Meyer. B-T-Dubs, cute story idea, not so great execution.)

So the question has it’s place in our community. Does that mean I like it?  Well, the community of writers needs it, so it has its place.

Why do I write? Because if I don’t the planet will turn on its axis and the moon will no longer have a dark side and insanity will engulf the masses.  Yeah, I’m that important.  I’m not God, but I cause some freaky stuff when I don’t write.

No, but really?  Because I can’t stop.

So why do you write?  Tell me in the comments below! 🙂

Also, just a little bit of advice from Ira Glass before you go.

3 thoughts on “Why I Write?

  1. I am reading the “Why we write?” book for my class presentation and I find it interesting. I find myself to be more of a reader than an actual writer. I find my sentences are minimal and not important, but I am always interested in why writers write, but I understand more after this book is that they did it long before their professions and just couldn’t stop.

  2. Why do I write? Hmm…probably because I think I have some funny material that could make millions die laughing. Maybe because I think my screenplays will shock and inspire. I chose writing as a degree mainly for the reason that I sucked in science. I wanted to be a Marine Biologist, but my dreams got crushed when I realized that I wasn’t the brightest color in the Crayola box. I like writing, its simple. It can be whatever I want it to be.

  3. I have always dreaded that question. “Why do you write?” My experience with the question hasn’t been a good one. Simply put, I write because I like to. You don’t have to be the Stephen King, or J.K. Rowling, of the writing world to enjoy writing. I write, because it’s a form of expression.

Leave a Reply

