A Little Rant About Intros

As I mentioned earlier, you have to select details to carry your story along and that won’t overwhelm your reader.  In this same essence, you must also choose an Intro worthy of your reader’s interest.  Though I will go over making an interesting Intro later, I would like to first point out this very ESSENTIAL fact that will help your writing greatly.

 If your begging to your story is a summary with lots of telling, you are doing yourself a disservice.  You do not need a prologue to start your story, you just need a story.  Chapter Ones are very fine starts.  I, like many readers, enjoy the mystery of what’s going to happen.  But if you have a beginning like this:

            It was terrible what they did to me those years.  I needed an escape.  No one was there to help me then.  They will pay.  They are called Emperor Meng’s Sorcerers.  For the last year they have tormented me.  This is my story.

Unless you have a journal thing going on, which I do not suggest for it is not as easy as you would be led to believe, this intro is unneeded.  Everything that is said is not only distracting by its telling, but it is all the details that your readers will find out later through story.  Just jump into a scene and stop trying to summarize what will happen or has happened.  Keep your readers in suspense and they will follow your story.  If you simply mention the name of Emperor Meng’s Sorcerers with some connotation that they are not good guys and have caused some sort of conflict, that will be enough to draw your reader into reading more.  But you cannot do this with a summary for an intro.  It would work best if the name was say, mentioned in a piece of dialogue between your main character and his fellow conspirator.

 Selecting details can be vital to whether a reader may continue reading or not.  Some have more patience than others, but with overwhelming details, or just summary of details to come, you may lose many of your readers.

2 thoughts on “A Little Rant About Intros

  1. Very interesting. I always have a ton of trouble coming up with introductions, because I wonder…”Is it too blunt?”, “Too boring”, etc…

    • I find that most introductions that I have I can end up switching out for a later part of my story. There was actually an article in Writer’s Digest that a publisher wrote and told how she/he went through various pieces. It was really interesting to see that he/she barely passed a paragraph or two to decide whether it was worthy of a complete read or not.

      I plan on going into more details about intros in a later post. I hope that I can get to that soon. :/

Leave a Reply

